ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 team of the tournament

ICC has released the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 team of the tournament made up off familiar suspects.
ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 team of the tournament: Sachin Tendulkar (India), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, WK and captain), Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Yuvraj Singh (India), Shane Watson (Australia), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Zaheer Khan (India), Muttiah Muralidaran (Sri Lanka). 12th man: Tim Southee (New Zealand).
As expected. India has the largest representation with the familiar name of Sachin Tendulkar. I do not know what has made Kumara Sangakkara worthy of being the Captain. For me the best captains of the tournament was Shahid Afridi or Vetorri. The New Zealand captain was saddled with an average team and yet made it to the semi-finals. Similarly, Afridi had a team that was ready to implode. However, he still brought the team to the semi-finals.
The inclusion of Mahela and Sachin appears based more on their reputation than for any consistent performances. One concludes this team was made to appease a particular quota and is purely an political exercise.


Anonymous Atlanta Roofing said...

Dhoni becomes one of the greatest Indian captains. It was really good of Dhoni to promote himself up the order and come up with that knock in the final. His interview was very good though I think playing sreeshanth was a bad decision. Winning with a six – it doesn’t get better than this.

04/04/2011, 07:21  
Anonymous Ottayan said...

Thank you very much for your comment.I agree with you that Dhoni did the right thing by coming up the order and finishing the match with a flourish.

Sreesanth, I believe is his lucky mascot. For,there is no reason to have selected him.

04/04/2011, 09:40  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home