A lopsided Hall of Fame

The ICC revealed its list of cricketing greats chosen for the Hall of Fame.

The list contains 22 Englishmen, 11 Australians, 13 West Indians, three each from India, Pakistan and two South Africans and a lone New Zealander.

The ICC Hall of Fame follows the The Wisden route. The venerable almanac nominates an Englishman as the cricketer of the year 9 times out of 10 and the ICC has followed suit.

When many nations have legends waiting to be honored, it is beguiling how the English cricketers make approximately half of a 50-member list.

One cannot help but wonder at the impartiality of the ICC and speculate whether a majority of the ICC members yearn for an English ascendency in cricket in one form or the other.

Enhanced by Zemanta



Blogger straight point said...

infact i am surprised there's only 22 englishmen...after all they have been undisputed leaders in cricket since the game got invented... ;-)

29/06/2009, 11:27  
Blogger Ottayan said...

Aha! That could be the reason. :)

29/06/2009, 12:01  
Anonymous raj said...

Derek Underwood? My foot.
Derek underwood ahead of Chandra, Prasanna and Abdul Qadir? WTF.

30/06/2009, 11:10  
Blogger Ottayan said...

WTF? My sentiments, exactly.:)

30/06/2009, 16:06  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home